Player Registration

Golf day

Awards, awards and more awards

Elliot Richtor and Mason Crane share the prestigious Bill O’Reilly Medal, Trevor Chappell awarded NSW Premier Cricket Coach of the Year while the Victor Trumper Player of the Year is shared by Elliot Richtor, Mason Crane and Scott O’Brien.
Elliot and Scott pose with Trophy (Mason was back home in England)
The NSW Premier Cricket Awards were on Friday 28th April with two Gordon players sharing the Bill O’Reilly Medal after Charlie Stobo won the same award last year. Elliot Richtor and Mason Crane both were awarded 18 points by the umpires while third place finished with 14 points. In addition Trevor Chappell was named the Coach of the Year after helping the club move from 10th the Club Championship to 4th while not being able to use Chatswood Oval for practice due to the renewal of our practice wickets.
Elliot winning his O'Reilly Medal at the NSW Premier Cricket Dinner also shared with Mason Crane
Then on Saturday 29th April the GDCC Annual Awards night was held at the Kirribilli Club which was attended by 110 people including players, supporters and their partners. The major presentation was made to the Colts team who were premiers in the Metropolitan Cup and received their caps from our Platinum Sponsor Aden Nawaz from Beastwear. Congratulations to Aaron Crofts and his team for their excellent season. Jennifer Williams was also presented with a photo collage for her fantastic contribution as manager, scorer and photographer.

In a thrilling count down of points each round for our own Victor Trumper Player of the Year Award sponsored by Smartline Mortgage Broking with Scott O’Brien equalling Mason Crane’s 20 points with one round to play. Elliot Richtor was three points behind and in a dramatic finish scored the maximum three points in the final round to equal Mason and Scott. This was the first ever tied Player of the Year Award. Congratulations to Mason and Elliot who also had shared the O’Reilly Medal and particularly Scott O’Brien who dominated in 2nd grade and kept the other honest throughout the season.

Geoff Hickman giving his acceptance speech with screen behind him

In a moving decision for Clubman of the Year, Geoff Hickman received a standing ovation from the crowd with the players standing as one to congratulate their President. This was a great indication of how the club is bridging the communications gap between the Executive and the players and show they were appreciative of the work carried out by Geoff and his team.

In a special presentation, the club acknowledged the 10,000 run milestone for Damon Livermore and the 5,000 runs milestones for Steve Colley and Elliot Richtor. Commemorative Plaques were awarded to the players by Marshal Rosen and each player was interviewed by Ed Howitt.

The other major awards were:

  • Charles Mc Cartney Award – First Grade Player of the Year - Elliot Richtor
  • Dick Guy Award – Under 21 Player of the Year - Mason Crane
  • Brian Taber Award – Best All Rounder - Ash Doolan
  • Phil Emery Award – Green Shield Player of the Year - Glenn Winsor
  • W. A. “Bert” Oldfield Award – Colts Player of the Year - Aaron Crofts
  • W. A. “Bert” Oldfield Award – 5th Grade Player of the Year - David Burk & Lachie Stewart
  • W.A. “Bert” Oldfield Award – 4th Grade Player of the Year - Matt Wright
  • W. A. “Bert” Oldfield Award – 3rd Grade Player of the Year - Pat Effeney
  • W. A. “Bert” Oldfield Award – 2nd Grade Player of the Year- Scott O’Brien


Geoff Hickman presented the awards to Elliot and Scott

Special awards were also presented for the following:

Ash Doolan won the All-rounder of the Year Award

Batting Awards – 500 runs in season

  • Elliot Richtor – 787 runs
  • Steve Colley – 663 runs
  • Scott O’Brien – 646 runs
  • Axel Cahlin – 571 runs
  • Ash Doolan – 560 runs
  • Shayne Lin – 537 runs
  • Dominic Thomson – 535 runs
  • Tom Hamblin – 500 runs


Keeping Award – 35 or more dismissals in a season

  • Ash Doolan 40 dismissals


Bowling Awards – 35 wickets in season

  • Mason Crane – 51 wickets
  • Dan Stickland – 35 wickets


Trevor Chappell who won Coach of the Year at the NSW Premier Cricket Awards

10 wicket haul in a match –

  • Sam Watts


Record batting partnership

  • 2nd Wicket partnership record 5th Grade, Hamblin and Tullia 266
  • 10th wicket record for any grade, Crane and Junk 128


The evening was a great success which was excellently managed by Peter and Virginia Klemt. The night finished with the Gordon song with the three names included in the song…Elliot, Mason and little Scotty.

Paul Stephenson


Related News